文章

源源不絕的靈感?

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2020年5月

身為藝術家和設計師,創作的過程就是將想法和概念付諸實行,例如使用油畫去表達自己心境,或設計一件產品在市面售賣,改善我們的生活。一剎那的靈感可以讓作品得以問世,甚至可以讓世界有翻天覆地的改變,由此可見靈感是創作非常重要的一環。
 

你在創作時曾否感到迷惘?我們提筆時少不免會遇上瓶頸位,這也許正是你需要放鬆的時候。正所謂當局者迷,旁觀者清,放緩步伐未嘗為一個好方法。現代社會龐大的壓力會經常令我們無所適從,資訊氾濫更考驗我們獨立思考的能力。我們可以嘗試適當地整理思緒,從不同角度觀察自己的作品,這樣會更易被啟發和發現更多新的可能性。引用一個很經典的例子:一個杯子盛了半杯水,你覺得它是半滿還是半空?

觀點和角度改變了你的想法和意見,亦反映了你的態度。我們有時候苦苦思索也找不到答案,這時候可以嘗試從身邊尋求指引,例如圖案、物件甚至是聲音都可以啟發我們,所以學會不斷觀察生活細節是靈感的重要來源。對商業創作來說,藝術家和設計師要分析客戶的要求,然後根據自己經驗和知識去發揮。

你可以說靈感幾乎不需要成本去產生,但亦可以說它是價值連城。我們也許不能控制靈感何時會來臨,所以應該為這些時候做好準備。除了鍛鍊觀察力,你可以嘗試學習不同的藝術技巧、多留意身邊的事物和累積更多的素材,這些都可以讓你創作時更得心應手。盡量讓自己多思考和與時並進,例如留意新聞和閱讀雜誌。培養新的興趣也可以令你接觸新事物和與更多的人交流。另外,學會接納不同的觀點和意見也是很重要的。當你走進一家百貨公司時會看到各種貨物,作為練習你可以嘗試分析它們的好處和壞處,再找出改進的方法。他人的作品也是一個非常好的靈感來源,但要避免抄襲,否則有可能會引起其他問題。

紮實的基礎需要時間和努力去打造。好的藝術家和設計師能夠不斷學習,將新的體驗帶入作品,比別人多想一步並在作品裡呈現。嘗試從身邊尋找靈感,為你下一個傑作做好準備!

Unlimited Source of Inspiration?

Unlimited Source of Inspiration?

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : May 2020

As artists and designers, we turn ideas and concepts into reality when we create. For example, we may express our feelings through paintings, or design commercial products to improve our living standards. It is obvious that inspiration is essential to creation. An idea may appear in seconds literally and it can make dramatical changes to the world.

However, have you ever felt lost while creating your artwork? We face bottlenecking from time to time and when that happens, it is probably the right time to take a rest. The spectators see the chess game better than the players, trying to relax is likely to benefit you. We are constantly under pressure because of this ever-evolving society. Also, we receive massive amounts of information daily, which challenges our ability to think independently. You can try to recompose yourself and observe your work from different perspectives, as this can help you to think differently and to discover new possibilities. Here is a classic example: is the glass half full or half empty?

Perspective changes your point of view and opinions. At the same time, it shows your attitude. When we are stuck, we can try to find solutions from our surroundings. It can be anything from a random image, an object or even a sound that inspires us. Therefore, it is important to continually observe. For commercial projects, artists and designers need to consider clients’ requests. After analysing the task, they apply their experiences and knowledge to the designs.
 

Generating an idea costs almost nothing, but its potential value can be massive. We may not know when it comes, so we should be prepared for it. Other than being observant, it is always good to learn various artistic techniques and to collect materials for creation. You can try to keep on thinking and be alerted to your surroundings at the same time. For example, you can keep yourself updated from reading news and magazines. Picking up new hobbies help too, since that will encourage you to explore new things and to meet more people. Also, it is important to listen to others’ opinions and criticisms. As an exercise, you can observe items in a shopping mall, critically analyse them then try to improve them. Other people’s artworks can be great sources of inspiration as well, but you should try to avoid copying, because plagiarism can cause major issues.

Solid fundamentals take time and effort to nurture. Great artists and designers are able learn and merge new experiences with their works, take a step further than what people normally would. Try to be inspired by your surroundings and you are on the way to create your next masterpiece!