文章

升讀大學的途徑

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2020年7月

炎炎夏日,本應是應屆中學畢業生放鬆的日子,但疫情大大限制了大家消遣的方式。學生在過去的數年間為升讀心儀的大學付出了不少心血,但過去半年內學校因疫情而停課,大大影響他們的進度和成績,讓老師和學生都備受壓力。

本港的中學生大部份都以香港中學文憑(HKDSE)、國際文憑(IBDP)或國際高考(A-Level)的成績來報讀大學,但這些課程有甚麼分別?

香港中學文憑可以全面地評核一個考生的能力,但對某些學生來說是一個噩夢。因為中文、英文、數學和通識都是必修科,如果有任何一科不達標,在本地升讀大學的機會就變得十分渺茫,促使他們考慮在海外升學。同時本地部份學校的資源有限,學校在安排或分配資源時比較容易出現顧此失彼的情況。例如修讀藝術的學生未必能夠獲得充分的支援,限制了他們升學的選擇和未來的出路。

繼香港中學文憑之後,國際文憑亦很受學生歡迎。它的認受性非常高,是本港的國際學校普遍採用的課程。國際文憑受到一些頂尖大學的青睞是因為它的論文(EE)和知識理論(TOK) ,這兩個必修的部分考驗學生的分析、思考和研究能力,能夠讓學生及早適應大學的學習模式。由於視覺藝術是一個比較主觀的科目,寫論文時應該引用自己的作品,將文章內容與自身體驗融合,這樣更容易讓老師理解和獲得較高的分數。

國際高考則源自於英國的高中考試,該考試的成績都是由外國的委員會來評核,是被全球認可的學歷。與中學文憑和國際文憑不同,國際高考的考生一般會修讀三到四個科目,而內容會比較深入。學生如果有明確的升學目標,高考對他們會更有好處。因為他們可以選擇修讀擅長的學科,更有效地將時間分配。這對很多立志修讀藝術的學生是一個優勢,因為他們能夠花更多時間來改善作品集,提升被藝術大學錄取的機會。

由此可見,這些課程各有優勢,學生應該根據自己的能力、興趣和狀況去選擇,感到迷惘的話就應該與父母和師長商量。要謹記這個選擇沒有絕對的對或錯,只有合適與否。

Path to University

Path to University

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : July 2020

Summer is meant to be a relaxing moment for secondary school’s graduates. Unfortunately, the pandemic is greatly affecting our leisure activities. In the past years, many of these students have spent a lot of time and effort, trying to get into their top universities. School closure in Hong Kong is affecting students’ progress. As a result, both teachers and students are stressed.

In Hong Kong, most high school students either study the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education (HKDSE), the International Baccalaureate Diploma (IBDP) or the International A-Level (IAL), so they can apply to universities. However, have we ever thought about their differences?

HKDSE can evaluate a student’s all-round abilities, but it can be a nightmare for some of the students. This is because Chinese, English, Mathematics and Liberal Studies are compulsory. The students need to pass all of them, so they stand a chance of getting into local universities. Otherwise, they might need to consider overseas institutes. Sadly, some local secondary schools have very limited resources. For example, Art students may not receive enough support from their schools, limiting their university choices and further career paths.

IBDP is another very popular curriculum. It is widely recognised and most international schools in Hong Kong teach it. Some top universities prefer IBDP because of its Extended Essay (EE) and Theory of Knowledge (TOK). These two components can prepare the students ahead for their university studies since they can show analytical thinking and researching skills. Given Visual Art is more subjective than other academic subjects, when writing the EE, students can refer to their artworks and try to present them personally. Then the teachers can understand them better and to give better grades.

IAL originates from the UK’s high school exam. It is globally recognised and graded by foreign exam boards. Most IAL students will only take three to four subjects and the contents are generally more extensive. Students can manage their time more effectively and focus on the subjects that they are good at. This is beneficial to ones who have clear directions. For Art students who want to pursue a related degree, they can spend more time on improving their portfolios and increase their chances.

As we can see, these qualifications have different advantages. Students should choose based on their abilities, interests and circumstances. If they feel uncertain, they can ask parents and teachers for advice then make the most suitable choice. There is no absolute right or wrong answer.