文章

攝影是否一門藝術?

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2019年12月

現今我們每天都可以使用手提電話來拍照和自拍。科技提高了我們生活的質素,也為我們帶來了不少便利之處。但是你有沒有想過攝影的起源?第一張照片的起源可追溯至1826年。在二百年之內,日新月異的科技讓相機從一個笨重的盒子演變為一件可以隨身攜帶的電子產品。

攝影普及化的同時讓我們反思到底它是不是一門藝術?我們知道藝術可以以不同的形式存在,它的審美亦可以很主觀。這聽起來很老套,但也是事實。無論身處何方,我們透過自己的雙眼,無時無刻地觀察這個世界的同時,鏡頭可以讓我們捕捉到一剎那的美。一張相片可以清楚地傳遞一些信息並從心底引起我們的共鳴,所以在觀看不同的相片時,你可能會感受到各樣的情緒。每個人經歷和背景都會影響他們的體會。

攝影的技術要求和傳統藝術有頗大的分別。有些人或者覺得拍照非常簡單,只需按一下按鈕就可以完成。但在藝術的層面來看,傳統藝術和攝影都需要時間去計畫和塑造。攝影對環境的佈置、角度和燈光等都有一定的要求。你也許喜歡一張相片的外觀,但內裡的細節和構圖決定了它能否在眾多的作品中突圍而出。例如它可以呈現一些視覺上的錯覺,又或者由一堆經過精心佈置的物件組成。你亦可以使用電腦軟件去修改作品直到滿意為止。因為你可以選擇效果最好的作品去印刷,所以整個創作過程也變得更環保。話雖這樣說,但是菲林沖刷的過程會令相片擁有獨特的色調和視覺效果,沖刷時也有可能帶給你意外的驚喜。另外,你可以在拍攝現場即時調整數碼相機的效果,而菲林就要靠你的經驗和技巧去控制。

無論你是否一個藝術家,攝影可以記錄你珍貴的一刻,是一項非常實用的技能。作為一個興趣,它可以鼓勵你去探索周圍的環境。高質的相片能夠直接提升作品和作品集的質素,對藝術家來說是非常重要的。藝術家亦想將相片以最佳的狀態呈現在大眾的眼前,讓觀眾明白當中的意義。

Is Photography an Art?

Is Photography an Art?

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : Dec 2019

Nowadays we can use our smartphones to take photos and selfies daily. Technology offers us a lot of benefits and conveniences, however, have you ever thought about how it began? Ever since the first photograph was taken in 1826, our camera evolved from a bulky box to a portable digital device. We have made a lot of progress in less than 200 years.

Since it is so easy to take photos now, an argument arises: is Photography a form of Art? As we know Art exists in many different forms. It sounds cliché but Art is always subjective. We see the world through our eyes, no matter when and where we are. Photography captures the moment of beauty which may last only for a fraction of a second. A photo can present its message clearly and resonates within us. For example, we might feel a range of emotions when we look at different photos, which would depend on our past experiences and backgrounds.

Compared to traditional Art (or Fine Art), skills required in Photography are quite different. Some may think taking a photo is merely pressing a button, but both Fine Art and Photography take time to plan and execute. For Photography, you need to consider the settings, angles and lighting. You might like a photo because of its aesthetic, but a photo stands out because of its details and composition. For example, it can present optical illusions or some carefully placed items. If you want to, you can improve the outcomes using digital softwares. Digital photos also produce less waste, because you get to choose to print the works that you are happy with. That being said, Photography using film produces a unique tone and visual effects. Sometimes using films can give you nice surprises. Film is technically more difficult to use because you need experience and skills to control it, while a digital camera allows you to do the adjustments on the spot.

Whether you are an artist or not, Photography is a practical skill to have and it helps you to record your precious moments. It is a great leisure activity, giving you a chance to explore your surroundings. As an artist, high quality photos are important to their works and to any Art & Design portfolio. You want to present your works at their best conditions, where your viewers can understand your message easily.