文章

在香港或是外國大學修讀藝術與設計?

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2019年2月

「升讀大學能夠改變人生」是一個經常被討論的話題。現今所有行業都講求專業化,大學畢業證書已成為就職的入場劵。在過去的一篇文章內,我們曾經提過香港的環境不太適合修讀藝術和設計。根據2018年香港考試及評核局的數據顯示,平均有大約1.6人爭取1個本地大學的名額。競爭的激烈程度就視乎學科的選擇,例如香港理工大學的一個設計課程,平均有17.2名學生爭取1個學額。

僧多粥少,香港的競爭是非常激烈。如果學生決定出國進修,英國、美國和澳洲都是比較受歡迎的選擇。這些國家的學術水平都比較出色,而當地的文化、環境和風氣更能有效地幫助學生去學習。根據2018年的《QS世界大學排名》,首30名的藝術與設計學院之中,單是美國已經囊括了14家,而上述的3個國家一共佔了20席。香港大學的建築系在世界上排第12名,而香港理工大學的設計系在世界則排第24名。換言之,香港學生如果想在本地升讀這類課程,好的選擇就非常少。

上述的情況都會促使學生考慮在海外升學,而當地的文化和背景成了選擇院校的因素。文化很大程度地影響了藝術和設計院校的教學理念和方針,導致教學風格和內容上都會有所不同。一般來說美國的院校比較重視完成品,而學習環境比香港或英國相對地輕鬆。相對於技能,它們更著重學生的創意。如果學生擁有非常優秀的作品集,即使沒有藝術背景或相關的學歷也有機會被錄取。英國的院校更注重學術上的成就和創作的過程,所以在報讀時擁有相關的學歷是變得相對地重要,課程開始後才會進一步培訓所需的技能。

香港的文化和環境導致學生的思想都比較保守,但藝術的價值是很難被量化的。香港作為一個商業社會更看重的是效率和結果,代價就是過程經常被忽略,導致作品缺乏概念和內涵同時亦違背了藝術和設計的意義:通過創意,尋找有效的方法去解決問題。市場的需求也會因應時間而改變,令產品的設計變得過時。本地的院校普遍注重技能的培訓,所以學生們在這方面比較優勝。技能可以通過訓練去提升,但訓練一個人的創意思維卻更困難。

 

整體來說,外國的院校比較注重創作的自由度、探索和發展的過程。當中包括構思概念、創作、實驗到完成品。途中也許會遇到很多阻滯,但失敗是成功的必經之路亦是進步的好機會。外國院校對學生作品的接納程度也比本地高,所以他們自由發揮的空間亦更大。多元的國際文化可以讓學生擴闊視野,但他們可能要適應文化上的差異,例如溝通上的障礙和習慣當地的生活等等。

無論在香港或在海外進修,學生都要有紮實的基本功才有機會升讀頂尖的藝術學院。他們應該在初中或更早開始計劃和按部就班地練習,從而鞏固他們的技能。這樣才能漸漸知道自己的優點和缺點和了解自己的興趣或喜好,而這些都是在報讀大學時十分重要的。學科的選擇很大程度地影響了就業的出路,而興趣可以維持一個人對這行業的熱誠。這是一個可以改變一生的決定,所以在選擇學科之前,盡可能和有相關經驗的老師、親戚、朋友或就職顧問去討論。

Hong Kong Vs. Overseas

Studying Art & Design in Hong Kong Vs. Overseas

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : Feb 2019

Tertiary education is an important topic as it changes one’s life. All industries are getting more competitive and such qualifications become very common. As discussed in a previous article, Hong Kong’s environment is not very feasible to study Art & Design in general. Statistics of the 2018 HKDSE exam have shown that on average 1.6 qualified students were competing for a place in the local universities which are funded by the government. The competition varied from subject to subject, for example, a Design bachelor degree in The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU), on average 17.2 students were competing for just one place.

Based on statistics, the competition can be very fierce in Hong Kong. If students decide to study overseas, most would prefer UK, USA or Australia because their academic excellences, learning environments and cultures.  According to QS World University Rankings by Subject (2018), out of the top 30 Art & Design schools in the world, 14 of them are located in the USA and 20 out of 30 are in these 3 countries. The University of Hong Kong (HKU) is ranked 12th globally for Architecture and PolyU is ranked 24th globally for Art & Design. It shows that students have very limited choices if they wish to study in top Art & Design schools locally.

These factors encourage students to pursue tertiary education overseas. When selecting an Art & Design institute, it is important to look at the cultural influence, because it affects the school’s philosophy and its academic emphases; hence the teaching styles and contents may differ. In general, USA institutes tend to focus more on the final pieces and the academic environment is less competitive than Hong Kong or UK. They tend to emphasise creativity over technical skills, so it is possible for someone to enter an Art & Design course with an unrelated background, as long as the portfolio is strong enough. UK institutes tend to be more academically oriented and focus more on the process of creation. When students apply to their courses, they value relevant academic background more and subsequently developing stronger practical skills.

Hong Kong’s culture is a lot more conservative, which is strongly influenced by its culture and environment. It is hard to quantify the value of art. As a financial hub, it puts greater emphases on effectiveness and results. The process is often neglected and the final products lack thorough development. Market needs change over time and previous designs might be outdated, this defies the purpose of Art & Design: think creatively and find effective solutions to problems. Hong Kong students’ technical skills are undeniably strong, but these skills can be acquired with training, whereas, creative thinking is a lot harder to train. 

Overall, foreign art institutes tend to value the process of creation, the freedom of creative thinking and experimenting, i.e. from developing concept up to creation of final piece. Students are likely to encounter challenges which are great chances to learn and improve. Studying overseas is a great opportunity to broaden horizons and experiences, but students need to be aware of cultural differences and prepare themselves mentally. Language barrier and living style are two common examples, which students may find challenging to adapt to.

Whether studying in Hong Kong or overseas, a solid skill set is essential for entering top Art & Design schools. Ideally, students should start to plan at an early stage, e.g. when they enter secondary schools, because skills take time to practise and develop. Understanding your strengths and weaknesses is pivotal to university application. It is often better to choose a subject of personal interest because it will be a lot easier to sustain the motivation, while career prospects should be considered prior to entering a course. It is best to talk to teachers, relatives, friends and career advisors who are experienced in the corresponding industries before making this life-changing decision.