文章

藝術的喜悅

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2020年11月

我們或多或少都會受到壓力的影響。它漸漸成為我們生活一部分的同時,累積速度之快往往超出我們預料,而我們怎樣去應付相關的問題就變得相當重要。很多人會尋找各種方法去減壓來讓自己活得更愉快,例如運動、電子遊戲、冥想、購物或聆聽喜愛的音樂等。你大概都嘗試過這些比較常見的活動,但是你有沒有考慮將創作藝術列入當中?

資料氾濫已經是我們日常生活的常態,長期接收訊息的我們為甚麼不嘗試轉換角色,透過創作藝術品來表達自己?在過程中你可以完成具有個人意義的作品,成就感隨之而來。你可以自由選擇創作的方法,作品也能夠以不同的形式存在,包括塗鴉、繪畫、油畫、書法、雕塑和攝影等,它們都可以幫助你舒緩壓力和減少焦慮。當我們專注思考和想到新的主意時,整個過程讓我們感到滿足之外,更會激發創意。

Drexel大學的研究人員做了一個實驗,發現參與者經歷四十五分鐘的藝術創作後,皮質醇(一種受壓分泌的荷爾蒙)的水平會大幅下降。他們用了常見的材料並自由地創作。即使實驗的結果會因人而稍有差異,但是證明了個人的藝術水平不會影響皮質醇下降的幅度。

另外很重要的一點是在創作或欣賞作品時,大腦會在你享受藝術時分泌安多酚。這荷爾蒙可以舒壓和有鎮痛的效用。

 

我們都需要渲洩的渠道,而藝術是一個非常好的媒介。因為創作過程才是重點,所以任何人都可以從中受惠。創作藝術帶來的益處是顯然而見的,無論你是在職人士或是學生,都應該抽一點時間來參與這活動。

 

從今天開始創作,散發更多正能量吧!

Happy Art

Happy Art

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : Nov 2020

Stress is an issue that concerns pretty much all of us and the question is how can we deal with it.  It builds up so quickly to a point that we accept it as part of our lives.  A lot of us seek various ways to relieve stress and try to make ourselves happier. Whether it is exercising, gaming, meditating, shopping or listening to your favourite music, you probably have tried some of these already. However, have you ever considered art as an activity to make yourself happier?

We are already overwhelmed by incoming information daily, instead of being the recipient, why not find a way to express ourselves? Creating art can be very rewarding because you are making something that is special to you. The “piece” can exist in many forms, from doodling, drawing, painting, calligraphy, sculpting to photography; it is entirely up to you to decide which form you want to pursue. They all serve the same purpose, to help you to relieve stress and stay away from anxiety. When we let our thoughts flow, we feel satisfied when new ideas come out. Devoting yourself to this process also ignites your creativity.

Researchers from Drexel’s College have found that the stress hormone cortisol lowers significantly after 45 minutes of creating art. Simple materials were provided to the participants and no directions were given. Though the effectiveness varied a bit from person to person, the results showed that the amount of art experiences and cortisol levels lowered had no correlation. 

Besides, whether you are creating or observing an art piece, your brain also releases endorphin when you enjoy art, a hormone which helps you to counter stress and relieves pain.

As we can see, there are a lot of benefits to creating art. All of us want to express ourselves in some ways and art is an excellent medium. The best part is you don’t have to be a professional artist to enjoy these benefits. It is about the process more than the creation itself. Whether you are working or studying, it should not be difficult for you to spare a moment to create.

So, start creating today and become more positive!