文章

家中的藝術展

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2020年10月

我們最近都減少外出並盡量留在家中。需要在家中線上工作之餘,各種活動也漸漸轉到線上,讓你足不出戶就可以購買衣服和、常生活用品和觀看你喜愛的電影等。由於外出的次數減少,畫廊、藝術展和博物館等都改變了形式來宣揚文化和啟發大家。我們繼續鑽研藝術和吸收最新的行業資訊時,你有否想過只需使用電腦或手機就可以參觀這些地方,甚至與作品互動?

近年來科技讓虛擬導覽和虛擬實境等技術變得更成熟,亦被廣泛的大眾接受。你可以在彈指之間遊覽各地的名勝,例如羅浮宮、大英博物館和梵蒂岡博物館等。眾多的畫廊如Art Basel只需在網上註冊帳戶就可以登入和參觀。你不再需要花時間在執拾行李和旅程途中,也不用在擠迫的人群中鑒賞這些著作。

虛擬實境給我們一個身臨其境的體驗。如果藝術家使用這技術,我們欣賞這些作品時就不用受地域和時間的限制。在今年二月,3電訊商和倫敦時裝週合作並活用這科技,和中央聖馬丁藝術與設計學院的碩士生帶來了一場時裝秀,給我們獨特和煥然一新的視覺享受。另一方面,因為有些作品要在現場才能享受完整的體驗,所以有部分人反對將作品數碼化。現今技術的水平亦未必能將現場的體驗在數碼平台上準確地呈現。試想像你花費多個月的心血在作品上,但觀眾不能理解當中的信息或用意,那會令人多麼失望和沮喪。

藝術以不同的形式存在,科技賦予藝術家靈感和強大的工具去創作。作為觀眾,科技改變了我們欣賞這些作品的方式,但觀賞體驗依舊是非常個人和主觀的。很多人願意親身遊覽畫廊和博物館去體驗當中的氣氛,但現在你可以用其他方式去鑒賞作品,就如《蒙羅麗莎》般的名作,就算你不能親身觀摩,你依然可以用別的方法去欣賞它。

 

科技為藝術和我們的生活帶來重大的改革,而世界正經歷著一系列急速的變化。讓我們見證藝術如何在這艱難的時刻茁壯地成長吧!

Exhibition at Home

Exhibition at Home

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : Oct 2020

We have to stay at home more than ever. We have to work from home and many of our activities are going online as well such as clothes and groceries shopping, watching your favourite movies and more. Since we can’t go out, Art galleries, exhibitions and museums have changed their form to share cultures and to inspire us. While we continue to do our research and keep ourselves updated with the Art & Design industry, have you ever thought of visiting these places in a few clicks or swipes, or interact with the piece itself?

In recent years virtual tours, virtual reality (VR) and related technologies have become more popular. You can “visit” famous places like The Louvre, The British Museum and Vatican Museums in mere seconds. Galleries like Art Basel are now available online too, all you need is an account to login. You no longer need to spend the time to pack and travel or to appreciate those masterpieces without standing in the crowd. 

VR provides an immersive experience. When artists use it for their creations, we can view them anywhere and anytime in the world. Three worked with London Fashion week earlier in February where Central Saint Martins’ MA students also participated in this show. It is one of the many examples out there, showing that technology is offering unique viewing experiences to the audience. On the other hand, there are people who disagree. For some pieces, the physical experience is essential to the viewers and digital platforms can’t simulate this accurately. Imagine you are putting months into your work and the viewers can’t understand your message or intention properly. This can be very disappointing and frustrating.

Art exists in various forms. As artists, technology offers us powerful tools and inspirations to create. As an audience, it changes how we appreciate these pieces but the viewing experience is always personal and subjective. It is true that a lot of people want to visit galleries or museums in person to experience the vibe, but there are other ways to appreciate an artwork. For example, you can still appreciate Mona Lisa in the meantime without being able to view the actual piece.

It is amazing how technology changes Art and our lives. Our world is undergoing a series of rapid changes, let’s see how Art continues to develop in these difficult times!