文章

與生俱來的創作力?

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2020年1月

「構思或運用原創和獨特想法的能力。」- 劍橋字典


當你在凝視一幅油畫、雕塑或建築物時,你也許會想:這些藝術家和設計師,他們是從那裡獲 得創作的靈感?有些人會覺得他們的才能都是與生俱來的,其他人只能抱著羨慕的心態去欣賞他們。這同時也提出了一個問題:到底創作力可不可以通過後天的努力去培養?

無可否認,有一部份藝術家天生就才華洋溢。他們贏在起跑線的同時,事業更是飛黃騰達。有研究表示創作力是可以培養的。當中使用的技巧可以幫助你跳出固有的框框,勇於去探索和作出不同的試驗,尋找屬於你的答案。這個過程中所犯的錯誤都是珍貴的經驗,令你成長得更快。除此之外,你可能會在途中發現不同的驚喜,進一步地啟發你的思維。擁有創作力並不會一下子讓你成為一個天才,但是你會在生活感覺到它帶來的改變。例如它會鼓勵你在日常中尋找不同解決問題的辦法,包括提高你的工作效率。它也會讓你更自由地表達意見、增強自信心和自我意識。

 

有學者發現年幼的小孩的創作力比大人更豐富。諷刺的是,隨著年齡的增長,我們做事的方式也變得更死板。在成長的過程中,父母和老師總會叫我們去學習和做「正確」的事情。如果在創作的時候,我們採用正確或保守的途徑,作品的可能性將會大大地減低。有一部份家長們不太了解創作技巧的重要性,而分數很大程度地影響了學生們的學業,令我們非常害怕犯錯。

現今資訊氾濫收窄了我們思考的空間,甚至漸漸地令我們麻木,削弱了我們的創意和批判思考的能力。各行各業需要創意去成長,所以這些因素都影響著我們的前途。事實上,我們可以通過學習和訓練去善用創作力。首先要向正確的方向去思考,提出相關的問題,輕鬆的環境也會對這個過程有所幫助。就如愛因斯坦所言,「想像力比知識更重要」。我們的創作力也許是與生俱來,但是被成長的環境限制了。我們需要保持一顆好奇的心,不要將事情視為理所當然的同時要不斷地思考進步的方法。

Born to be Creative?

Born to be Creative?

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : Jan 2020

“The ability to produce or use original and unusual ideas.” - Cambridge Dictionary

When you see a painting, sculpture or a building; you might wonder where these artists and designers get their inspirations from. Some of us may think these people are gifted since they were born, the rest of us can only dream of what they achieve. This raises a question: can creativity be nurtured?


There is no doubt that some artists are naturally talented. They get a head start and shine earlier in their careers. However, researches show that creativity can be nurtured. Creative techniques help you to step out of your comfort zone and to explore possibilities. Making mistake is part of the improving process and you can find nice surprises along the way. These surprises can inspire you to develop your ideas further. Being creative is unlikely to turn you into a genius in a sudden, but it will make your daily life and career more productive by finding new solutions. Creativity encourages you to express freely, increases your confidence and self-awareness.


Some studies also show interesting results, saying that young children are more creative than adults. This suggests our creativity decrease as we grow up, which is quite ironic. We were told by our parents and teachers to learn and do the “right” things since our childhoods. However, when it comes to creativity, following the right or safe solutions will probably limit your possibilities. Some parents might not realise the importance of these creative skills. On the other
hand, we are fear to make mistakes so that we can score good grades.

 

Nowadays information is continuously fed to us, we start to lack the ability to think creatively, independently and critically. This is likely to affect your career, since innovation causes industries to grow. Creativity is a skill that can be learnt and developed by a series of trainings. Asking the right question will be a good start. A relaxing atmosphere is also likely to help. As Albert Einstein said, “imagination is more important than knowledge.” We might be born to be creative, but our environment limits our creativity as we grow up. We need to stay curious, try to question our assumptions and keep thinking.