文章

態度和性格

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2019年5月

態度和性格互相影響,但它們的本質有很大的差別。一個人的性格描述了他/她待人接物的方式,而時間能夠塑造和改變這些特徵。態度是指一個人對某樣事物或他人的感受。不同的是,人擁有操控態度的能力,所以我們應該用性格而非態度來詮釋一個人。這兩者都會影響大家日常生活的行為,包括社交、與人溝通、思維、情緒和選擇等等。無論是在求學或職場,態度和性格都會影響每個人之間的交流,周圍的環境也會因而改變。

我們周不時會聽到“藝術家性格”這類的形容詞,這是因為很多的藝術家都會對自己的作品抱有堅持的態度。藝術家應該細心聆聽有建設性的意見,同時保留自己的創作風格並對新事物保持開放的態度,這樣更能去不斷地進步和成長。正面的態度和鮮明的個性對創作也是很重要的,因為作品常常反映了作者的個性。

偏激的態度很容易會令人在生活和工作中碰壁。當作品受到朋輩或客戶批評時,藝術家應該先反思整個過程並找出問題的所在而不是將過錯歸咎於態度。旁人未必能夠體會藝術家投放的時間和精力。人的情緒周不時有起伏而它具有很大的渲染力,關鍵是學會如何將脾氣控制在合理的範圍內。我們應該嘗試去體諒大家,從而避免不必要的爭執和問題。一個專業的人士應該時刻都要保持理性,但是藝術家也有需要捍護自己作品的時候,例如受到惡意批評或攻擊。總括來說,藝術家要在多方面中取得平衡。

人在多數的情況之下都會認為自己是對的,所以被批評時的一剎那也許會感到不滿或憤怒。從失敗中學習是進步必經的過程。例如修讀藝術與設計的大學生常常參加學校舉辦的檢討會,向同學和教授展示自己的作品,表達想法及觀點的同時接受他們的批評。針對性的意見更能訓練個人的邏輯、批判思考和應對技巧。理性的討論是學習的好機會,更能為自己將來的事業做好準備,避免負面的情緒影響了處事的態度。

 

人應該將壓力變為動力,學會接納自己不足之處才能令自己變得更強大,在未來的路走得更遠。遇上困難的時候,積極去找尋解決的辦法更能讓自己進步。人是不可能達到完美的,但可以竭盡所能去接近。換言之,人是永遠有進步的空間。謙受益,滿招損。藝術與設計的行業是非常多元化的,但行頭窄亦是事實。能夠獨立去思考才能形成正確的人生觀和價值觀,尋找真正的自我。我們亦應該去不斷地發掘新的事物和裝備自己,為將來的機遇作好準備。

Attitude vs. Personality

Attitude vs. Personality

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : May 2019

Attitude and personality are related but different. Personality is a range of characteristics which defines an individual and it can be shaped through time. Attitude relates to one’s feelings towards a person or thing and it can be actively controlled. A person should be defined by personality but not by attitude. They both affect everyone’s daily life to great extents, including social interactions, communication with others, thought process, emotion, decision-making and more. Whether in school or in the workplace, they affect all parties’ interactions and can change the surrounding and environment.

The public sometimes find artists to be hard to work with because artists have attitudes about their work. Artists should embrace constructive opinions while retaining their personal points of view, because it is important to be open minded to new ideas in order to improve and grow. Having a positive attitude and a distinctive mind are very beneficial in the creative industry, since personal styles are often shown in an artist’s work.

However, attitude may cause conflicts at work. If an artist’s work is challenged by peers or clients, one should reflect on the process and should not use attitude as an excuse. Also, they might not appreciate the time and effort spent. People experience ups and downs frequently, controlling temper becomes crucial at all times since attitude can be contagious. We should try to be considerate whenever possible to avoid unnecessary conflicts or issues. A professional should not let emotions take over. In fact, an artist needs attitude to support his/ her work at certain moments, for example, when things are taken personally. Overall, artists need to strike a balance between these elements.

Many people live in the delusion of grandeur and assume they are correct under most circumstances; therefore, they might feel offended or angry when they are being criticised. Learning from failures is a part of the process towards improvement. For example, Art & Design students periodically participate in critique sessions, where they present their works to classmates and professors. Their works are reviewed and questioned in a challenging manner, which train the students’ logical and critical thinking skills and responses. Rational discussions are especially beneficial because they are great learning opportunities and prepare students for future careers.

One should embrace criticism and pressure as motivations to excel. Accept your weaknesses so you can be a better self and go above and beyond. Be positive while encountering difficulties. As a human being, it is impossible to achieve perfection, but we can try our best to get close to it. Which means, there is always room for improvement. It is advised to be humble since Art & Design is highly diversified, although the industry is quite small at the same time. Being able to think independently allows us to discover our values and identities. Meanwhile we should continuously explore ideas and embrace change for the better.