文章

藝術 - 傳統和商業

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2019年11月

我們在上課時也許會因為苦悶而在書本或筆記簿上塗鴉,亦可能在草稿紙上隨手畫畫。這都可以用一個很簡單的理由去解釋:因為喜歡。但你有沒有仔細想過為甚麼會這樣做?當我們想到「藝術」這兩個字的時候,首先在腦海中浮現的作品大概會是《蒙羅麗莎》或者是《大衛像》這類的名作,但是美術也可以不經不覺地融入你的生活之中。

​美術的原意就是表達自我和捕捉現在的一剎那,並將這些記錄下來。它所記載的歷史甚至可以追溯到石洞裡的壁畫。我們平時會根據自己的審美和藝術價值觀去創造作品,使生活更豐富的同時也可以傳遞不同的信息,從多方面去啟發你和給你視覺上的享受。這些信息可能對你來說是非常個人的,也可能和你周圍的環境有關。它可以是一個很簡單的場景,例如坐在咖啡店的你,凝望著外面繁忙的交通和人流。創作本身不應該受到任何約束,你可以用自己喜歡的方式去表達。正因為如此,每個人在觀看你的作品時也許會有不同的想法和感受。美術作品可以用獨特的方式呈現唯美、科幻或其他的觀感。

​科技為我們在創作藝術品時帶來了不少新的素材和靈感,例如各樣的塗料和噴漆等。電腦軟件的崛起更是為我們拓展了一片新的天地,提供更多的方法去啟發和鼓勵我們不斷進步。現在我們可以使用軟件去實現傳統技術幾乎不可能達成的效果。它可以讓你在彈指之間修改自己的作品,並可以即時看到修改後的結果。科技大大提高了創作的效率和品質,對商業創作非常重要。

​另一方面,商業創作和美術有十分大的差別。商業創作是一種可以滿足社會需要的服務,例如它可以幫助你推廣產品或服務。當你想向觀眾說明產品或服務的功用和好處時,傳遞的信息都會非常清晰。雖然我們可以用相近的材料去創造這兩類型的作品,但是商業創作本身的用意就是要向某類型的觀眾展示。你可以在生活中到處見到商業創作,例如電視廣告、報紙、雜誌、網上平台、建築物上的橫額或海報等。它對很多藝術家非常重要,是收入的主要來源。對唯美的藝術家來說,維持穩定的收入可能會比較困難。另外,創作者在美術作品上面幾乎都會簽上自己的名字,但在商業創作之中,作者一般不會表明自己的身份。

​所有視覺藝術都有不少相通的地方,例如它們都會和美術有關,採用的素材也可以很相似。它們給予觀眾視覺沖擊的同時,更重要的是作品背後的創意。不同的藝術範疇都非常專業和有獨到之處,創作的過程和訓練都需要相當的時間。你可以從日常生活的細節開始,仔細去留意身邊發生的事物,幫助你在這行業內變得更成功。所有形式的藝術都有價值和意義,而我們應該嘗試去欣賞和了解它們的重要性。美術是視覺藝術的根源,所以藝家們都應該在這方面打好扎實的基礎。

Art - Traditional vs Commercial

Art - Traditional vs Commercial

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : Nov 2019

We may doodle when we get bored during a lesson or we may draw just because we want to. Have you ever wondered why we do that? When we think of traditional Art or Fine Art, we may think of masterpieces such as the Mona Lisa or Michelangelo’s David, but in fact, Fine Art can exist in simpler forms as well.

The core of Fine Art is to express yourself and to capture the present time that we are living in, which eventually will turn into history. Fine Art can be tracked all the way back to cave drawings. People create Fine Art pieces mainly based on their aesthetic and artistic values. They enrich our experiences and often have different meanings, which can be inspiring and visually pleasing. Fine Art generally conveys a message which could be very personal to you, or about your surroundings. The scene can be as simple as gazing at the traffic and the people walking pass by outside a coffee shop. As always, you have the freedom to create whatever you feel like doing. Because the work can be personal to you, each and viewer may think and feel differently when they look at your work. The content can be artistic, futuristic and unique at the same time. 

 

Thanks to technology, we have a lot more materials to choose from when we create Art, just to name a few: acrylic paint, blacklight paint and aerosols. As digital tools emerge, technology offers us new ways to create and to inspire, allowing us to explore more. We can achieve visual effects which were once practically impossible. With these tools, you can edit your work in a few mouse clicks and see the results immediately. These are very important to Commercial Art, because technology increases the speed and quality of the creation process.

On the other hand, Commercial Art is very different from Fine Art. Commercial Art is a service that can fulfil societal needs. For example, it helps you to sell products or services. You create it because you want to talk to your viewers about a product or a service that can help them solve a problem. The message is often very clear, which is different from Fine Art.  Although we can use similar materials to create both types of Art, the outcomes of Commercial Art are meant to be published to a specific audience. In fact, you can see them everywhere, such as on TV, newspapers, magazines, online platforms, banners/posters on buildings and more. Commercial Art is important to many artists because they make their living out of it, while this can be a lot more difficult for Fine Art artists. An obvious difference is, Fine Art artists would credit themselves while commercial artists often do not reveal their identities.

All Visual Arts share many similarities more than just materials, for example, they both make visual impacts can always be related to Fine Art. Art needs a lot of knowledge, practice as the creation process is time-consuming. You need to think and observe a lot on daily life activities to do well in any Art form. All forms of Art have their values and meanings and they are important in their own ways. We should try to understand and appreciate them. Fine Art is the fundamental understanding of all Visual Arts and it is important for artists to build a solid foundation upon it.