文章

遊戲中的藝術

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2020年2月

大部份人都會在空閒時玩電腦遊戲來舒緩壓力。遊戲的選擇眾多,為甚麼你會購買一個作品?是因為它帶來的刺激或是它的畫面非常吸引?很少人會思考遊戲背後意義和它怎樣去啟發我們。

現在大家都普遍認同遊戲是一種藝術。數碼和傳統藝術都有相似的設計元素,但是數碼藝術更能和觀眾互動。事實上,遊戲大概是最有互動性的一種藝術。華麗的畫面漸漸成為遊戲的必要條件,但是遊戲介面和操作是否容易上手也是必須考慮的。有時遊戲的成功與否是取決於它的操作體驗,甚至比畫面更重要。

一個遊戲的背後包含了整個團隊的心血,例如畫師、設計師、插畫師、動畫師、程式設計師和作曲家等等。它們花了相當的時間使你的遊戲體驗更加完美。製作時,團隊都想玩家們置身投入,成為故事一分子。細節往往是重點,例如你在這個世界闖蕩時所看到的角色、物件、地圖和關卡等等都是經過團隊精心的設計和策劃。所有精緻畫面的背後,插畫師和動畫師功不可沒。但是,華麗的畫面除了吸引我們的目光以外,更重要是它為我們帶來更逼真的體驗。很多時,遊戲能夠引起我們的共鳴,令我們感受到喜怒哀樂等等不同的情緒,更帶來了刺激和成就感。探索這個虛擬世界和其他角色互動時,都會反映現實社會的狀況,亦會讓你的角色隨著時間而成長。

有些遊戲是為了某個目標或傳遞一些信息而開發的。它們很多時能夠啟發我們,向大家呈現社會的問題和讓我們反省自己的行為。例如「模擬城市」本來是訓練建築師的軟件,同時提醒了我們:當城市快速地發展時,也不要忘了我們對環境造成的影響。另一個例子是小島秀夫的「死亡擱淺」,他想讓玩家們明白人類之間羈絆的重要性。科技的發達讓溝通變得更容易,但同時也是把雙刃劍。這決取於我們如何去運用科技。

我們見證了電腦遊戲發展的歷史。新的硬件和科技會不斷地啟發藝術家和設計師去創作。在數十年之後,現在頂尖的畫面和技術也會變得過時。但我們可以肯定的是遊戲體驗會不斷地提昇,因為藝術與設計的意義在乎於不停地創新。

Art in Games

Art in Games

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : Feb 2020

Most of us play video games in our spare time to relax. What makes you decide to buy a game? Because of the thrilling experience or the mesmerising graphics? Very few of us take the time to think about what are behind and beyond a game.

Nowadays, game design is recognised as a form of art. Digital art shares similar design elements with traditional art while being interactive. In fact, video games are arguably one of the most interactive form of art. Impressive visuals almost becomes a must for games now, but the mechanics should be considered too, because they have made titles successful without fascinating graphics.

Behind a game, there are artists, designers, illustrators, animators, programmers and music composers who work so hard to perfect your experience. While a team creates a game, the staff want us to be a part of the story. Details are important. For example, all characters and objects you see, all maps and levels that you explore are carefully designed and planned. Illustrators and animators are keys to the good visuals. However, 3D graphics are a lot more than just aesthetics because they create worlds that give us realistic gaming experiences. More than often, gaming creates emotional impacts that resonate within us, such as joy, sadness, anger, excitement, satisfaction and more. As the game progresses, the character grows with you when you explore this artificial world. The interactions with other characters can reflect our society in real life.

Beyond gaming itself, games can be designed for other reasons, conveying messages from the developers. Sometimes they can be reflections or questions on how we behave in our society. For example, “SimCity” was originally designed to train architects, but it also reminded us about environmental issues when we developed our cities. Another example would be “Death Stranding” by Hideo Kojima. He wants the players to understand why connection is important to humanity. Modern technologies make communication so convenient, but they can be beneficial and harmful at the same time. This can depend on how we apply various technologies.

We have come a long way in game design since the first video game was introduced. Hardware and technologies are developing quickly and will keep on inspiring artists and designers. Today’s best graphics will look ancient in a few decades. One thing is for sure though, is the gaming experience will improve continuously, because innovation is what Art & Design do.