文章

藝術和環境

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2019年8月

我們在日常生活中經常製造各式各樣的垃圾和污染物。常見的形式包括空氣污染、水質污染、土地污染、光污染、聲音污染等等。在過去的一個世紀,當全球人口快速地增加時,各種工業的發展也非常蓬勃,人類更是肆意地使用天然資源。藝術與設計能夠用甚麼方法去減輕這些問題?

溫室氣體導致全球的氣候變暖,誘發嚴重的天災。路上的車輛在行駛時會釋放二氧化碳,是溫室氣體的一大來源。有些國家使用水力壓裂技術來更有效地提取天然氣和石油,但這方法會同時釋放地下的甲烷(非常強的溫室氣體)、消耗大量的水、污染地下水源和對環境造成其他的影響。其中現有的解決方法是將再生能源的概念普及化,所以產品設計就變得非常重要。例如市面上多個汽車生產商研發了多款的電動汽車來減輕對環境的負擔。

另一個例子是綠色建築。它令建築物的每一個環節包括設計、建造、運作、維護、拆除等都可以更環保和更有效地使用資源。一個常見的方法就是安裝太陽能電池板。這類的建築需要設計師、建築師與多方面協調和合作。

我們平時的衣著是土地污染的一大來源。「快速時尚」的概念讓多個時裝品牌縮短服飾的生產周期。這些品牌每一季都會推出新的服飾系列,但是上一季的產品幾乎都會變成垃圾,徒然增加堆填區的負擔。衣服製造的過程都需要用到染料或化學品,有些工廠更將未經處理的污水直接排入大海。製造的過程亦有機會產生有毒的氣體。雖然這行業已經研發了更環保的設計和製造程序,例如將舊的布料循環再用,但這些技術都牽涉較高的成本而沒有被廣泛地使用。

由此可見,藝術與設計時時刻刻地影響著我們的生活。科技讓新的材料問世,也令產品變得更環保。公司應該積極地考慮在日常運作中採用更環保的方案,履行該有的社會責任。藝術家、設計師、工程師、建築師等等的人材都正朝著這方向努力。藝術家們可以創造有關的作品去提醒大家環保的迫切性和每個人可以作出的貢獻。在個人而言,我們可以從每天的生活入手,包括減少使用塑膠瓶、塑膠袋、避免購買包裝華麗的產品、在家中安裝省電燈泡等等。Konrede作為一間藝術與設計工作室,也提醒我們的客戶不要浪費紙張和材料。每個人都應該盡自己的責任去保護環境。

Art & The Environment

Art & The Environment

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : Aug 2019

We are producing various forms of wastes and pollutants in our daily activities, including air, water, soil, light, noise and more. As the population grew and industrialisation occurred rapidly in the past century, we are consuming natural resources at an unprecedented rate. How can Art & Design help us to relieve these issues?

Greenhouse gases cause global warming and catastrophic weather events. Most vehicles on road release carbon dioxide, which is a major greenhouse gas source. Some countries use hydraulic fracturing to extract natural gases and oil, which releases methane (a very strong greenhouse gas), consuming high volumes of water, contaminating underground water and inducing other risks. An existing solution is to use renewable energy wherever appropriate, hence making Product Design essential. For example, some car manufacturers introduce electric cars to reduce emissions. 

Another example is green building. Environmental impacts are considered at every stage, such as designing, constructing, operating, maintaining, demolishing and more. One common solution of sustainable energy is solar power. Green buildings require designers, architects and other parties to work closely.

Our clothing is major source of soil pollution, especially for brands which use the “fast fashion” approach. A new series is launched every season, but clothes from the previous season will most likely end up in a landfill. Dyes and chemicals may cause water pollution because some factories release these pollutants into the ocean directly. The manufacturing process may release toxic fumes as well. Eco-friendly design methods and practices are invented to achieve sustainable fashion, such as recycling cotton and polyester fabrics. However, these techniques are not widely applied because of the costs associated.

It is evident that Art & Design changes the way we live. Technology is advancing and introduces new techniques and materials. Companies should implement eco-friendly practices to fulfil their social responsibilities. Artists, designers, engineers, architects and other parties are working hard on eco-friendly and energy-efficient products. As artists we can create works which alert the public that time is limited and everyone is responsible. As an individual, we can start now with our daily activities. For example, reduce the consumption of plastic bottles or bags, purchase products with minimal packaging and install LEDs at home instead of traditional light bulbs. As an Art & Design studio, Konrede always advises our clients to reduce wastes whenever possible, especially on paper and material consumptions. Every individual’s effort counts, you can make a change starting from today.