文章

藝術與設計和其他學術科目

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2019年7月

在之前的一篇文章內我們提過香港經常被形容成一個文化沙漠,而很多家長的傳統觀念令他們低估了藝術與設計的就業前景。有些家長甚至認為讀書不成材或者無心向學的學生才會去修讀藝術與設計,但事實上它的每個範疇都有獨到和專業的地方。因為很多人不太了解藝術家背後付出時間和精神,所以認為修讀藝術與設計是一件簡單的事。

藝術記錄了人類的歷史和文化演變。如果沒有了文字或圖畫,知識的傳承會變得十分困難,例如我們現在書寫的中文也是源自於象形文字。由此可見,藝術與設計就是人類溝通的起源。

從課程內容或架構來看,藝術與設計的學科和其他學術科目有非常大的差別。其中一個最明顯的分別是在評分時藝術沒有絕對正確的答案,而一個項目或許需要多個月的時間去完成。評分的準則一般以創意、構思的過程和作品的完成度來判斷。藝術與設計的學生需要在研究和試驗時花費大量的時間,付出的心血絕不會比其他學科的同學少。報讀頂尖的藝術與設計的院校時,申請者除了要達到一定的學術水平之外,另一個決定性的因素就是要遞交好的作品集給院校評審。這些申請者很多時在學術上的成績也非常好,但興趣和熱誠使他們報讀這些科目。而打造一個好的作品集,光靠技巧是不夠的。

本地的家長普遍都認為建築設計和室內設計的就業前景比較穩定,所以在眾多的藝術與設計的學科當中比較看重它們。香港作為一個商業城市,父母有這樣的看法也是無可厚非的。但仔細一想,你家裡和街上的每一件物品都是經人設計的,這包括所有的商品、廣告、電影和音樂等等。它們的功能滿足了市場上一些人的需要,促使投資者令商品的概念得以實體化。由此可見,藝術與設計是一件商品的起源,所以每個學科都應該獲得重視。

 

當學生修讀藝術與設計時,他們獲得的技能和建立的人脈對將來工作有十分大的用途和益處。香港的金融服務業是第二大的經濟支柱,亦有六項優勢產業。這些產業包括了創意產業、教育產業、醫療產業等等。創意產業近年有顯著的增長,並在六項產業中僱用了最多的從業員。我們有客戶跟導師見面後才知道作品集需要花費相當的功夫去準備,希望能夠更早接觸到我們,聆聽專業的意見並接受幫助,給他們充足的時間去籌備作品集。

Art & Design vs Academic Subjects

Art & Design vs Academic Subjects

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : July 2019

As discussed in a previous article, that Art needs more support from Hong Kong’s education system and society. Many parents underrate the career prospects of Art & Design and some may think artists enter this industry because they do not excel academically. As a matter of fact, every Art & Design subject is specialised and professional. People might not realise what does it take to study or work in this field, so they think it is quite easy.

Art records our history and cultural changes. It would be extremely difficult to pass knowledge onto the next generations without texts or drawings. An example is hieroglyph, the origin of the written Chinese language. It is evident that Art & Design is the root of communication.

Art & Design is very different with other academic subjects when it comes to course structure and contents. One major difference is there is no absolute right or wrong answer and a project may take months to complete. Students are judged base on their creativity, thinking process and the outcome. Therefore, Art & Design students need to spend extensive amount of time on their researches and experiments. Students who wish to apply top Art & Design institutes will need a good portfolio besides meeting the academic entry requirements. It is worthy to point out that many of these applicants also excel academically but choose to pursue their careers in Art & Design because they are passionate about it. Top Art & Design institutes value high quality portfolios a lot when it comes to application. Also, it takes a lot more than just technical skills to produce a good portfolio.

Architecture and Interior Design are the most popular subjects among the local parents, because they think these two subjects offer more stable career paths. It is understood that the typical parents would think this way because of Hong Kong’s culture. However, Art & Design is everywhere when you think more carefully. All items you encounter and you use are all related to it, including commercial products, advertisements, films, music and more. They all have specific functions and fulfil certain needs; therefore investors are willing to materialise these concepts. It is evident that Art & Design is the origin of these creations and all subjects should gain more attention from the public.

The skills acquired and connections built will benefit Art & Design students greatly in the future. With financial services industry being one of the four pillars in Hong Kong, there are six main industries as well. These industries include cultural and creative industries, education services, medical services and more; while cultural and creative industries are experiencing significant growth in the recent years and employed the most people within these six industries. We have clients only realised a portfolio requires a lot of time and effort to prepare after meeting us, wishing they could have met us earlier, listened to our professional advices and accepted our help.