英國

1. 建築聯盟學院 (AA)

位於倫敦的中心,建築聯盟學院成立於1847年,亦是世上最出名的建築學院之一。 它也是英國最古老的獨資學校,舉辦的課程更覆蓋了非常廣泛的範圍,由預科到博士課程都有提供。學院的圖書館擁有將近4萬6千冊的資料,包括作品、書籍、文獻等等。該校著名的校友有Will Aslop、Zaha Hadid和Ron Arad。

AA對報讀的學生有非常高的要求,也對學生提交的作品集抱有很高的期望。作為一間頂尖的建築學院,它非常重視作品的質素。如果你打算報讀這間學校,你需要一個優秀的作品集。

 

2. 法爾茅斯大學

位於英國西南部的康沃爾郡,該校在過去的一個世紀內演化成為創新數碼科技的樞紐。它將自己定位為一間多元化的藝術與設計院校。學生可報讀的傳統課程有藝術、平面和插畫。著名的校友有Tacita Dean 、Hugh Pym 和Rex Crowle 。

法爾茅斯的插畫課程非常有名。該校投放了大量資源在數碼媒體上,可以看得出它勇於創新的態度;相關的學科包括動畫、遊戲設計和虛擬現實而這些都是行業未來的趨勢。該校的商學院也是很不錯的。這個城市經常舉辦一些節目,例如各樣的慶祝活動;充滿活力的社區可以給你一個愉快的求學體驗。

 

3. 格拉斯哥藝術學院

該校位於英國北部的蘇格蘭。格拉斯哥是郡內最大的城市,亦是英國最適合生活的地區之一。格拉斯哥藝術學院成立於1845年,是一間獨資的學校。該校的藝術與設計尤其出色,在歐洲內名列前茅。校內的環境、設施和教學方針促進不同部門的合作,找到解決問題的創新方法。這間院校擁有5個學院,它們分別是:建築學院、設計學院、藝術學院、模擬與形象化學院和創新學院。它工作室對外舉辦了不同的專業課程,讓大眾可以體驗該校的教學質素。

在英國眾多頂尖的藝術與設計院校之中,格拉斯哥藝術學院是比較傳統的。它的畢業生在不同的範疇中都有出眾的成就,當中包括美術、插畫、電影等等。著名的校友有Charles Rennie Mackintosh 、Douglas Gordan和Martin Boyce。

 

 

4. 倫敦大學金匠學院

位於倫敦,該校附近擁有眾多的畫廊、博物館等等。它以創新的態度另闢蹊徑,而該校多年卓越的學術水平讓它建立了良好的聲譽。著名的校友有Antony Gormley、Vivienne Westwood和Damien Hirst。

倫敦大學金匠學院內不同的部門提供了一系列的課程給大家去報讀,當中以藝術有關的課程特別出眾。該校在藝術和學術的課程之間取得了一個很好的平衡,同時它科研的成就亦廣泛被認同。除了藝術的課程之外,該校也投放了不少資源在文學和人文學科上。

 

5. 羅浮堡大學

羅浮堡大學位於英國中部的萊斯特郡,並以體育有關的學科和成就著名。它在全球的藝術與設計學科中排第28名*,並有3個相關的部門,包括1. 建築和土工木程、2. 文學、英文和戲劇和3. 設計。

羅浮堡大學整體擁有非常好的聲譽,它提供了英國最好之一的大學生活。它的設計學院擁有一流的設施給你自由使用。該校為了提供良好的求學體驗,花了不少功夫。很多學生對校內的生活感到十分滿意。

 

6. 倫敦雷文斯本大學

該校的起源可以追溯至1878年。它位於英國倫敦的格林威治,是一間與時並進、關注行業和社區發展的大學。它以數碼媒體和設計的科目聞名,學生可以從預科到碩士當中選擇合適自己的課程。該校也為成年的學生和其他人士提供一系列的短期專業課程。該校的校友在當地不同的比賽中屢獲殊榮,包括英國皇家藝術設計獎和英國設計的獎項(藝術指導)等等。它著名的校友有David Bowie、Clare Waight Keller和Bruce Oldfield。

由於它是一間職業導向的院校,所以在修讀課程的途中,你會學到很多實用的技巧。該大學與眾多的僱主合作,為學生做好就業的準備,例如培養他們的思維模式和技能,以便他們將來在創意產業中活學活用。

 

7. 皇家藝術學院

位於倫敦,皇家藝術學院是一間注重藝術研究的公立大學。倫敦是一個充滿活力的城市,同時亦深受濃厚的歷史和多元的文化影響。該校只提供碩士或以上的課程,而彪炳的成績讓它在全球連續第5年被列為榜首*。該校的畢業生在多個範疇都有傑出的成就,包括時裝設計、插圖、油畫和工業設計等等。該校擁有4個學院:

  1. 建築學院

  2. 藝術與人文學院

  3. 傳播學院

  4. 設計學院

如果你打算報讀碩士或以上的藝術與設計課程,或者你是藝術工作者卻又想繼續進修,皇家藝術學院是一個非常好的選擇。

 

8. 倫敦藝術大學

倫敦藝術大學一共由7間學院組成。它現今被列為全球第2名的藝術與設計院校*。該校提供了多元化的藝術課程,當中包括了藝術、設計、時裝、傳播和表演藝術這些範疇。7間學院分別是:

  1. 坎伯韋爾藝術學院

  2. 中央聖馬丁藝術與設計學院

  3. 切爾西藝術學院

  4. 倫敦傳播學院

  5. 倫敦時裝學院

  6. 溫布頓藝術學院

  7. 創意電腦學院

每間倫敦藝術大學的學院都有它的專長,例如:

中央聖馬丁

  • 擁有享譽全球的時裝設計部門,亦是7間學院中歷史最悠久的。它的藝術系、建築系和珠寶設計亦非常有名。該校的時裝設計課程的競爭非常激烈,著名校友包括Alexander McQueen、John Galliano和Stella McCartney等等。

倫敦時裝學院

  • 一間知名的時裝學院。除了提供時裝課程以外,它鞋類和配件設計課程也是很有名的。

倫敦傳播學院

  • 這間學院專注有關視覺傳達的課程。如果你對平面設計或相關的學科有興趣,這學院亦是一個非常好的選擇。

溫布頓藝術學院

  • 一間專注現代劇院、劇院設計和螢幕製作的學院。

如果你想報讀一間頂尖的藝術與設計院校,或者想向行業內的菁英學習,就應該考慮倫敦藝術大學。該校眾多的畢業生在創意行業擁有非凡的成就,有一部份更成為行業內的先鋒,開拓新的領域。

*根據2019年《QS世界大學排名》藝術與設計的學科排名。

**根據2019年《QS世界大學排名》。

***數據和統計均從學校的官方網頁內獲得。

Art & Design University

1. Architecture Association School of Architecture (AA)

Located in the heart of London and established in 1847, AA is arguably the most prestigious architectural school in the world. AA is also the oldest independent school in the UK of its kind. It offers courses all the way from foundation to PhD. It has a library containing almost 46,000 titles of works, books, journals and more. Notable alumni include Will Aslop, Zaha Hadid and Ron Arad.

AA is selective with who they choose to study there as they have a high expectation on the quality of work they have to review for applications. Being a top architectural school, they emphasise on creating work to a very high standard. Your portfolio needs to be excellent in order to get into this school.

2. Edinburgh College of Art (ECA)

Established in the 1760’s and located in Scotland, ECA is an internationally renowned art institute for both teaching and researching. In 2011, ECA formally merged with the University of Edinburgh and comprises of five schools: Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (ESALA), School of Art, School of Design, History of Art and Reid School of Music.

All of these schools offer undergraduate and postgraduate courses. ECA is equipped with a comprehensive range of facilities such as studios, workspaces, concert halls and more. Together they offer a creative yet supportive learning environment to artistic talents across these fields. Edinburgh is also home to world-class events, galleries and museums, such as the Edinburgh Art Festival. They will help you immerse yourself in this culturally rich city.

 

3. Falmouth University

Falmouth is located in Cornwall, the south-west of the UK. Falmouth University found its way to a digital innovation hub in a century. It positions itself as a multidisciplinary art & design institute. The school teaches traditional courses such as Fine Art, Graphics and Illustration. Notable alumni include Tacita Dean, Hugh Pym and Rex Crowle.

Falmouth University is strong in Illustration. It dedicates to innovate, which is reflected by allocating its resources into digital media, such as animation, games and virtual reality. These areas are the upcoming trends of the industry. It also has a well reputed business school. Falmouth hosts a range of events, such as festivals and nights out. The vibrant community can provide you a pleasant studying experience.

 

4. The Glasgow School of Art (GSA)

GSA is located in Glasgow, the northern part of the UK. Glasgow is considered one of the safest cities to live in. GSA is founded in 1845 and it is one of Europe’s leading institute for art and design. Using a studio-based approach, it brings various disciplines together to find new innovative solutions. The school can be categorised into 5 academic areas: architecture, design, fine art, simulation & visualisation, and innovation. Its Open Studio hosts vocational courses to the public, allowing people to experience what GSA can offer.

GSA is a more traditional art school when compared to some of the top art schools in the UK. Graduates have found fruitful careers in fine art, illustration, film, animation and more. Some notable alumni include designer Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Douglas Gordan and Martin Boyce.

5. Goldsmiths, University of London

Located in London, there are a number of galleries, museums and more to explore in nearby Greenwich Village. Well known for its creativity and innovation, Goldsmiths’ reputation is backed up by its remarkable academic standards. Notable alumni include Sir Antony Gormley, Vivienne Westwood and Damien Hirst.

Goldsmiths offers a wide range of subjects across various departments and are particularly well-known for their Fine Art courses. The university strikes a good balance between their art courses as well as academic and its research contributions are highly recognised. They are also highly focused on the arts and humanities subjects besides visual arts.

 

6. Loughborough University

Located in Leicester in the UK, Loughborough University is primarily known for its sports-related courses and accomplishments. The university is ranked 28th in the world for art & design* and have 3 departments under art & design which are 1. Architecture, Building and Civil Engineering, 2. Arts, English and Drama, and 3. Design.

Loughborough University has a great reputation overall, offering you one of the best university experiences across the UK. Their Design School facilities are considered some of the best facilities available in the UK. Many of its students appreciate the university’s effort to give them a great living experience.

 

7. Ravensbourne University London

The foundation of the school can track back to 1878. Ravensbourne is located in Greenwich (UK) and is an industry and community focused university which is known for its digital media and design courses, available from Foundation to Masters level. It also offers a range of vocational courses to cater to different needs and adult students. Alumni have multiple awards at national level, for example: Royal Society of Arts Design Awards, British Design in Art Direction Awards and more. Notable alumni include David Bowie, Clare Waight Keller and Bruce Oldfield.

The university works with employers to prepare its students with appropriate mindsets and skillsets for the creative industries. You will gain practical skills during your study in Ravensbourne which is transferable and applicable at workplaces.

 

8. Royal College of Art (RCA)

Located in London, a vibrant city influenced by rich historic and cultural diversity. Ranked as the world’s top university in the art and design field for the fifth consecutive year*, RCA is a public research university that consists of only postgraduate students. Its alumni excel in an extensive range of industries, including Fashion Design, Illustration, Painting, Industrial Design and more. Programmes are offered based on four schools:

  1. School of Architecture

  2. School of Arts & Humanities

  3. School of Communication

  4. School of Design

If you are looking for art & design courses at Masters level and above, or if you are a working professional in this field, RCA is an excellent choice for pursuing higher education.

9. University of the Arts London (UAL)

UAL is composed of 7 colleges located in London. It is currently ranked second in the world for Art and Design*. UAL offers an extensive range of courses in art, design, fashion, communication and performing arts. The colleges are:

  1. Camberwell College of Arts

  2. Central Saint Martins

  3. Chelsea College of Arts 

  4. London College of Communication

  5. London College of Fashion

  6. Wimbledon College of Arts

  7. Creative Computing Institute

Each of these colleges under UAL are renowned for different subjects, such as:

Central Saint Martins (CSM)

  • CSM is the most well-known and is the oldest school under UAL. It has a world-renowned fashion department and is very strong in Fine Art, Architecture and Jewellery Design. CSM’s fashion courses are extremely competitive to get into. Notable alumni include Alexander McQueen, John Galliano, Stella McCartney and more. 

London College of Fashion (LCF)

  • Another well-known fashion school. Besides their fashion courses, their footwear and accessories courses are very reputable. 

London College of Communication (LCC)

  • This college focuses on everything to do with Visual Communication and is a great option if you want to study Graphic Design and other related courses.

Wimbledon College of Arts

  • A specialist in contemporary theatre, theatre design and screen production.

If you want to enter a top art & design school, study and work with the elites of the industry; then you should consider UAL. Numerous UAL graduates enjoy successful careers and some become the pioneers in their chosen industry.

10. University for the Creative Arts (UCA)

UCA has been providing education for creatives in the U.K. for over 160 years. It is named the “Modern University of the Year” by The Times and Sunday Times Good University Guide 2019. Highly specialised in the creative field, its graduates have a remarkable employment rate.

As a creative hub, the school builds a unique community for students, artists and academics. Collaboration between courses is encouraged, where students can share their creative process and inspire each other. UCA offers an extensive range of courses across its campuses, including animation, game design, architecture, business, jewellery design, fashion and more. Notable alumni include fashion designer Zandra Rhodes and the multi-disciplinary artist Tracey Emin.

*According to QS World University Subject Rankings 2019.

**According to QS World University Rankings 2019.

***Facts and statistics of universities are available from their official websites.