美國

1. 藝術中心設計學院

藝術中心設計學院在1930年成立,是一間享譽國際的院校。它座落於美國加州,並致力改革現今藝術教育的體制。它是第一間被聯合國授予非政府組織資格的藝術院校,為二千多名學生提供11個學士和7個碩士課程。

該校擁有兩個校園,致力為學生提供一個豐富和多元文化的學習環境。藝術中心設計學院非常重視創新,讓學系和學生們一起研發新的選修課程,進一步改善學生們校內的體驗。畢業生在電影及剪輯、美術、工業設計、攝影等領域上都有非凡的成就。

2. 加州藝術學院 (CalArts)

加州藝術學院由迪士尼創辦人華特‧迪士尼在1961成立,是一家國際知名的藝術院校,在培育視覺和表演藝術的人才都有傑出的成就。該校非常重視培訓學生獨立思考的能力並讓他們擁有獨特的思維,而畢業生在電影和動畫這兩方面做得特別出色,例如Dustin Hoffman和Tim Burton等。

CalArts嘗試將不同學系融為一體,促進跨學系間的交流和改善教學方法,從而發現新的可能性。每個學系都有導師輔導它的學生,讓他們受到專業的培訓和為未來的事業作好準備。

3. 紐約時裝學院

位於紐約市,該學院讓學生獲得一個多姿多采和充滿成就感的求學體驗。生活於最繁榮之一的城市中,種種的體驗和該校的設施會令你從不同的角度去觀察,使你在求學的途中能夠把握意想不到的機遇。

紐約時裝學院專注於指導設計、時裝、藝術傳播和商業這數個範疇。它的時裝設計尤其出色,培育的人材有Michael Kors、Calvin Klein和Carolina Herrara等等。雖然在常用的大學排名表中不會找到紐約時裝學院,但是該校的實力是不用置疑的。如果你決定去修讀時裝有關的課程,你應該將這院校列入考慮名單中。由於它是非常專業的時裝學校,你將會獲得行業內的最新資訊和在求學的途中建立寶貴的人脈。

4. 帕森設計學院

位於紐約市中心,你會體會到這個充滿動感的城市擁有多元的文化。該校在全球的藝術與設計學科中排第3名*並擁有多個學院,提供了選擇眾多的學士和碩士課程:

  1. 帕森設計學院

  2. Eugene Lang文科學院

  3. 表演藝術學院

  4. 社會研究新學院

  5. 公共關係學院

  6. 巴黎帕森設計學院

值得一提的是《天橋驕子》這個受歡迎的電視節目,頭數季曾多次在該校取景拍攝。由此可見,帕森和相關行業內的人士都一直保持著良好的關係。另外,紐約市中心是美國的商業樞紐。在求學的途中,你有機會和世上頂尖的藝術與設計公司合作。該校培育了非常多的人材,在眾多的科目中,它的時裝設計特別出色。著名的校友包括Marc Jacobs、Tom Ford和Alexander Wang。

 

5. 普瑞特藝術學院

普瑞特藝術學院成立於1887年,在美國的布魯克林、曼克頓和紐約均有校園。作為高等教育的翹楚,該校提供了眾多的學士和碩士課程,致力培訓各樣的人才。科目橫跨藝術、設計、建築等等。它的畢業生在相關的專業,很多都有卓越的成就。著名的校友有Gertrude Käsebier、Norman Norell和Keith Michael。

該校近年在建築、室內設計和工業設計這數方面做得比較出色。在求學期間你會向世上一些最具創意的人學習,從中獲得啟發。它的課程以創意為本,著重多個單位之間的合作,致力使用一流的設備來培育校內的學生,給他們充分的支援。

 

6. 麻省理工學院

麻省理工學院成立於1861年,致力透過教育、科研和創新令這世界更美好。它在全球最勇於創新的地區之一,學生亦對校內生活感到滿意。在求學的同時,你可以從一系列的課外活動中挑選,令你的校園生活更加豐富。

 

該校現在在全球的大學之中排第1名**。雖然以它以工程和科研的成果享譽全球,但它亦擁有一個全球排名第2的建築系*。而眾多的畢業生中,我們比較熟悉的有被譽為現代主義建築大師的貝聿銘。

 

作為一家頂尖的研究型大學,它的商學院、政治科學和音樂系都極為出色。如果你想向藝術與設計的方向發展和認識未來各行各業的菁英,該校是你創業和建立人脈的好地方。

 

7. 奧蒂斯藝術與設計學院

奧蒂斯是一間擁有過百年的歷史的非牟利院校,在業內備受推崇。講師都是業內的專家,培育來自各地的學生,讓他們塑造未來的世界。奧蒂斯從1978年到1991年間曾經和帕森設計學院合併。時至今天,奧蒂斯依然是美國一間頂尖的時裝設計院校。

學生可以從院校完善的制度受益,包括學業輔導員、個人導師和學長計劃等。根據該校的調查,92%的畢業生獲僱主聘請或繼續進修,高於全美國的平均水平。

8. 羅德島設計學院

羅德島設計學院成立於1877年,是美國歷史最悠久的藝術與設計學院之一。這院校鼓勵藝術家們時刻保持好奇心、與時並進、具同情心和勇於創新。學生可以從一系列的學士和碩士課程中,按自己的喜好去選擇。該校的校友在以下的範疇中均有傑出的成就:動畫、建築、電影和電視、插畫、多媒體/混合媒體和裝置藝術和油畫。

另外,羅德島設計學院和布朗大學合作,推出了雙學位的課程。你可以同時修讀藝術和其他的科目,將知識融會貫通。羅德島亦是一個富有藝術氣息地方,它附近的博物館儲存了很多藝術與設計的資料,並提供機會讓你將自己的作品向公眾展示。

 

9. 薩凡納藝術設計大學 (SCAD)
 

享譽全球的薩凡納藝術設計大學在1978年創校。它是一間私人、非牟利和被官方認可的院校。在2019年,來自過百個國家的學生報讀它的課程,人數更超過1萬5千名。

SCAD擁有多元的文化,學生可以從40多個主修科和超過75個副修科中選擇心儀的課程。在眾多的課程中,最受歡迎的科目有動畫、時裝、影視、平面設計和插畫。該校致力提供高質素的教學,讓學生為事業做好準備。畢業生更被一些業內頂尖的公司聘請,例如3M、谷歌和彼思動畫製作室(Pixar)等。

10. 芝加哥藝術學院

該校成立於1866年,是世界級的芝加哥藝術博物館旗下的院校。它一直提供頂尖的藝術教育,同時給學生們機會去展覽自己的作品。在藝術與設計的範疇內,它培養了眾多影響深遠的領袖。畢業生在眾多的藝術與設計行業中,包括藝術和雕刻等建立自己的事業。不少名人都是出身自芝加哥藝術學院,例如Georgia O’Keeffe 、LeRoy Neiman 和Walt Disney。

該校以眾多學系的成就而聞名,校內的設施和資源提供了一個優秀的學習環境。課程採用開放式的架構,提高批判性思考、探索力和創造力。它課程的設計過程經過多方面的考驗,讓你為未來的事業作好準備。

11. 視覺藝術學院 (SVA)

視覺藝術學院位於美國紐約市,是一間擁有70年以上歷史的藝術名校。它提供的預科、學士和碩士課程有31個之多。該校十分重視批判性思考、創新和承擔社會責任,它扁平的管理架構有利眾多的學系改善現有的課程。

SVA鼓勵學生們鑽研創意和挑戰自我。該校的動畫、電影和美術課程非常有名,知名的校友有Billy Plympton、Harris Savides和James Jean。從創校以來,歷界3萬8千多名的畢業生獲獎無數,包括奧斯卡金像獎、艾美獎和葛萊美獎等。

*根據2019年《QS世界大學排名》藝術與設計的學科排名。

**根據2019年《QS世界大學排名》。

***數據和統計均從學校的官方網頁內獲得。

North America

1. Art Center College of Design (ArtCenter)

Established in 1930 and located in California, ArtCenter is an international leader aiming to shape a new model in creative education. This college is the first design school which receives the United Nations’ Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO) status, offering 11 undergraduate and 7 graduate degrees, accommodating over 2,000 students.

ArtCenter’s two campuses aim to provide a rich and intercultural learning experience to its students. Also, the school values innovation significantly. Departments collaborate with students to develop new elective courses, further improving their experiences. Its alumni have achieved great successes in film directing and editing, fine art, industrial design, photography and more.

2.California Institute of the Arts (CalArts)

Founded by Walt Disney in 1961, CalArts is a globally renowned school for nurturing professional artists in both visual and performing arts. The school aims to equip their students with distinctive and independent thinking. Its generations of alumni have proved to be very successful in the creative industry especially in film directing and animation. Notable alumni include Dustin Hoffman, Tim Burton and more.

CalArts aims to be a creative community, where the faculties can exchange ideas and methods to innovate, so they can discover new opportunities. Students can benefit from the school’s faculty mentoring, where they can receive professional trainings, getting well-prepared for their career pathways.

3. Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT)

Based in New York City, FIT’s campus gives students an exciting and rewarding study experience. Its urban experience and facilities will let you gain new perspectives and opportunities that you may never expect.

FIT focuses on educating talents of design, fashion, art communication and business. Specialised in Fashion Design, it produced some well-known names in the industry, such as Michael Kors, Calvin Klein and Carolina Herrera. Although FIT does not feature in the popular university ranking lists, but you should consider it if you plan to study fashion related courses. Given it is highly specialised, you will benefit from the updated industry information.

4. Parsons School of Design at The New School

Situated in the heart of New York City, you will get to experience a diverse and vibrant community. Currently ranked third in the world for Art and Design*, Parsons is offering an extensive range of undergraduate and graduate programmes are available from these schools:

  1. Parsons School of Design

  2. Eugene Lang College of Liberal Arts

  3. College of Performing Arts

  4. The New School of Social Research

  5. School of Public Engagement

  6. Parsons Paris

The school has great connections with the industry, in fact the first several seasons of the popular reality tv show “Project Runway”, were filmed at Parsons New York. Since Parsons is located at the business hub of USA, you will have opportunities to work with some of the greatest art & design companies. The school has nurtured numerous notable alumni especially in fashion design such as Marc Jacobs, Tom Ford and Alexander Wang.

5. Pratt Institute

Established in 1887, Pratt Institute’s campuses are located in Brooklyn, Manhattan and New York. As a global leader in higher education, Pratt is dedicated to train its undergraduate and graduate students for future careers in art, design, architecture and more. A lot of its graduates excel in fine art, illustration and architecture. Notable alumni include Gertrude Käsebier, Norman Norell and Keith Michael.

Pratt currently excels in architecture, interior design and industrial design. You will be working with some of the world’s most creative and inspiring minds in these fields. Its curriculum uses a collaborative and creative approach, committed to train and support their students with exceptional facilities.

 

6. Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Founded in 1861, MIT is dedicated to make a better world through education, research and innovation. Located at a global innovation hub, students experience a welcoming life. They can choose from a range of extracurricular activities along with their studies.

MIT is currently ranked as the top institute globally**. Although MIT is generally recognised for its engineering and scientific achievements, but it has a renowned architecture department which ranks second in the world*. For example, I. M. Pei is one of the most recognised alumni and he is a pioneer in architecture.

As a top research university, it also excels many areas such as business, political science and music. If you want to build your own career in art & design, MIT is a great place for entrepreneurship and building connections.

 

7. Otis College of Art and Design

Established for over a century, Otis is a non-profit institution and highly regarded in the art and design field. All faculty members are practicing professionals, aiming to educate a diverse community of students, empowering them to shape the world. From 1978 to 1991, Otis merged with Parsons School of Design and to date, Otis remains to be one of the top Fashion Design schools in the U.S.

The schools offers academic advising coordinator, academic mentor and peer mentor. Otis has carried out a survey, showing 92% of the respondents are employed or in graduate school, outperforming the national average.

8. Rhode Island School of Design (RISD)

RISD is one of the first art and design schools in the USA and was founded in 1877. It encourages artists to be curious, adaptive, empathetic and creative. The school offers diversified programmes at undergraduate and graduate levels, notable alumni are often recognised to be successful in these fields; Animation, Architecture, Film and television, Illustration, Multimedia, mixed media and installation, and Painting.

RISD is collaborating with Brown University, offering a dual degree course so you can integrate your art and design study with other subjects offered by Brown University. Rhode Island is known for its dynamic art scene. It has its own museum that focuses on art & design archives and provides opportunities to students to exhibit artworks to the public.

 

9. Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD)

Founded in 1978, SCAD is globally recognised in art education. It is a private, non-profit and accredited institution. In 2019, more than 15,000 students from more than 100 countries enrolled.

SCAD is culturally diverse and it provides over 40 majors and over 75 minors to its students. Among the extensive selection of undergraduate majors, here are some of the most popular choices: Animation, Fashion, Film and Television, Graphic Design and Illustration. The school strives to provide excellent art education and prepare students for their creative careers. Its graduates are employed by some of the most reputable companies in various fields, such as 3M, Google and Pixar.

10. School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC)

Founded in 1866, SAIC is part of the Art Institute of Chicago, a world-class museum. SAIC provides excellent education in studio arts and exhibition opportunities for its students. It has nurtured numerous leaders in the art & design field, influencing the world to great extents. Graduates found successful careers as fine art artists, sculptors and more. Some of the most notable artists were trained at SAIC, such as Georgia O’Keeffe, LeRoy Neiman and Walt Disney.

SAIC is known for its faculty. All facilities and resources create an exceptional learning environment; the curriculum applies an open structure and it promotes critical thinking, investigation and creativity. All parties who contributed towards designing the curriculum, are helping you to become a professional in the industry. 

11. School of Visual Arts (SVA)

Located in New York City and being established for over 70 years, SVA is a very reputable art institute. Currently offering 31 programmes across pre-college, undergraduate and postgraduate levels, the school emphasise on critical thinking, innovation and social responsibility. It maintains a flat organisational structure, allowing a degree of freedom for faculties to develop their courses.

SVA encourages its students to explore their creative ideas and to take risks when needed. The school is particularly well-known for its Animation, Film and Fine Art courses. Notable alumni include Bill Plympton, Harris Savides and James Jean. Its 38,000 graduates include Academy-Award, Emmy-Award and Grammy winners.

*According to QS World University Subject Rankings 2019.

**According to QS World University Rankings 2019.

***Facts and statistics of universities are available from their official websites.