文章

就業還是進修?

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2019年6月

在現今的社會,大學的畢業證書被視為求職的入場券。在快將完成學士課程的時候就會面臨一個選擇:應該就業還是繼續進修?對於工作了一段時間的在職人士而言,他們也可能需要更高的學歷才能爭取更好的晉升機會。

Konrede是位於香港的作品集專家,看到不少藝術與設計的人才在準備他們作品集的時候遇上了種種的難題。旁人未必能夠體會一個藝術家背後付出了的心血和時間。只要你決定了在這方面進修或投身這行業,我們可以幫助你了解在藝術路上可能會遇到的問題並找出解決的方法。我們在之前的文章都有討論過作品集的重要性。簡單一點來說它是一份具有視覺衝擊的履歷表,在報讀大學或求職時起了決定性的作用。

當高中生在報讀藝術與設計的學士課程時,作品集是非常重要的一環。他們看到作品集要求的時候也許會感到非常迷茫,因為大學列出的要求也許只有寥寥數句,而學生們未必能夠明白這些指示,學校亦未必有資源給每位學生提供足夠的支援。就算到了大學,教授的回答有時會令學生感到模稜兩可,這是因為在大學的求學過程中,學生是需要自己尋找答案的。由此可見,無論是中學生或者是大學生都需要更多的幫助。

總括來說,報讀學士課程的時候院校都會要求高中生提交的作品集囊括一定數量的作品,同時要描述創作的過程,而個別的藝術與設計院校更會提出很具體的要求。所以在遞交作品集前,學生要針對每間院校的要求而作出一些修改。因為不少報讀碩士課程的人都擁有工作經驗,而各行各業的背景會令他們的作品集截然不同,所以相對學士課程來說,大部份碩士課程的作品集要求都沒有那麼詳細但它們對作品質量的要求會更高。當中有部分的申請者沒有任何藝術的學歷或背景,但他們勇於改變自己和探索更多的可能性。有志者事竟成,縱使這不是一件容易的事,他們也可以在藝術與設計行業中闖出一片天。

Konrede比坊間一般的藝術工作室更專業,能夠幫助這些在藝術與設計作品集遇上難題的人,能夠給他們切實的意見和指導,從旁協助他們實踐藝術路上的每一個目標。如果你已經知道自己的發展方向,我們可以給你更清晰的指引從而更有效地幫助你。Konrede專業的導師很樂意和大家分享他們的經驗和行業的動態。有些客戶在課程開始時,只擁有少量的作品,而在課程完結時,他們在各方面都得到巨大的提升。客戶們一致的好評讓我們感到自豪,亦為他們的成果感到高興。你可以在我們空間充足、安全和友善的環境自由地創作,盡情地發揮你的想像力。

 

不要對未來感到害怕。踏出你的第一步,讓我們一起開拓你的藝術路。

Work or Study?

Work or Study?

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : June 2019

A tertiary qualification is very common nowadays and it almost becomes a necessity for job seeking purposes. People will face a dilemma when they obtain their bachelor’s degrees: should I start my career now or pursue further education? For ones who have been working in the industry for a while, they might need a higher qualification for career promotions.

Being a portfolio specialist in Hong Kong, Konrede has met numerous people who encountered all sorts of difficulties when it comes to their own portfolio development. People might not realise what it takes to study or work in the art & design field so it is important to learn how to manage your expectations. In previous articles, we’ve mentioned that a good art & design portfolio plays a pivotal role in university application and job interview. In short, it is your visual resume.

When high school students apply to art & design degree courses, they may feel very confused after viewing the universities’ portfolio requirements. This can happen because universities’ descriptions can be very succinct and students may not understand or receive sufficient individual attention. Even university students may get vague answers from their professors. This is because university students need to discover the answers during their studies. Evidently, these students need more help regardless of their academic levels.

In general, when a student applies to a bachelor’s degree, the university will require the student to submit a number of artworks and the creation process needs to be shown as well in their portfolios. Since some of the requirements can be very specific, students will need to adjust the contents to meet these criteria accordingly. Most of the time, the requirements of master’s degrees are not as precise as bachelor’s, but the expectations are higher. This is because many master’s applicants have already worked in different industries. Universities would like to see the applicants’ professional works and their portfolios can vary to great extents because they have different backgrounds. Occasionally there are applicants with no artistic qualifications nor related working experiences, but they want to explore their potentials and are willing to change. Although uncommon, nothing is impossible and there are successful cases who go on to find fruitful careers in the art & design industry.

Konrede is here to guide you if you are seeking help with building your art & design portfolio. We are not a typical art studio and we offer professional services to help you achieve your art & design portfolio goals. If you already have a direction, we can help you more effectively. We are glad that we have received positive feedbacks from our clients. Some of them had a few pieces of artworks to start with and achieved major improvements after attending our courses. Our instructors are willing to share their experiences and industrial insights. You can work in a spacious, safe and friendly environment, which helps letting your thoughts flow and create your next masterpiece.

 

Don’t be afraid to take the initiative. Let’s create your art & design future together.