文章

線上和線下的大學

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2020年6月

我們現在可以在家裡上課和上班都要歸功於科技和互聯網的發展。最近的情況更促進了視像通訊的開發,讓我們可以安坐家中,減少外出會遇到的風險。有些大學近年已經將課程轉型,以線上的模式授課,但你的地點會影響連線的質素。

 

報讀大學的程序也因最近的狀況而被拖延。如果你已經被大學錄取並在數個月內開學,你可能會遇到一個進退兩難的困境。你和你的父母也許會覺得付了學費,就應該親身體驗這個課程,而這情況對國際學生來說十分普遍。很多人覺得線上教學比不上真人授課,主要是因為缺乏互動的元素和不能讓你就讀心儀的學科。另外大學生活可能對你有重大的意義,除了獲得學位,遇到的人和建立的關係也是非常重要的一部分,而課堂上每位學生的參與和溝通都是不可或缺的一環。在傳統的課堂上,你可以和講師們實時交流,獲得一對一的意見並有效地改善你的技能。


假如你在今年九月到十月期間開學,你應該去確認一下大學授課模式和相關細節,因為課程內容和開學日期都可能會有所改變。由於很多課程都會在線上授課,這會間接增加你空閒的時間,亦是一個自我增值的好機會,例如訓練自己的藝術技巧。你不需感到迷惘,應該利用這機會,為你重返校園作更好的準備。當中獲得的知識和經驗對你未來都有好處。

 

線上課程固然有它的好處和價值,亦改變了我們學習和互動的方式。縱使這些課程很高機會只是短暫性的,但很可能會維持一個學期或更長的時間。重返校園後,你應該繼續時刻留意全球的最新狀況。無論如何,你做任何決定前都應該收集多些資訊,以策萬全。學如逆水行舟不進則退,考慮怎去善用你的時間吧。

University - Online and Offline

University - Online and Offline

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : June 2020

Thanks to technology and the internet, a lot of us can study from home now. The global medical situation speeds up the development of video conferencing, so we don’t have to travel to school daily, helping us to reduce health risks. Some universities have been teaching online courses for years, but the connection quality can depend on where you are.


University applications are delayed. For the ones who have received offers and will start your course in a few months, you might face a dilemma. You and your parents might think that you should experience the course in person since you are paying for it. This is especially true if you are an international student. Since online courses can lack interactions and they might not offer your favourite subject, a lot of us may think actual lessons are better. Also, university is a life- changing experience that can be special to you. Besides getting a degree, meeting new people is a major part of it, where your input and communicating with others are important. In an actual class, you can receive real-time and one-on-one feedback from the lecturers, which is very helpful to you while learning practical skills.


If you are going to start your degree course this September or October, you should check how your university is going run it. There might be changes made to the course contents and starting date. Since a lot of the classes will be online, it is quite likely that you will have extra spare time. This is a perfect moment to improve yourself, for example, to train your artistic skills. There is no need to feel helpless because this is a good chance to get yourself well-prepared before
returning to the campus. The experience and knowledge you gain are never wasted.


Online lessons certainly have their merits and values, changing how we learn and interact with each other. These lessons are unlikely to be permanent, but they probably last for a semester or more. When you can attend lectures in the campus after the pandemic, you should still be alerted to the global health situation. All in all, you should be well-informed before making decisions. Learning should not stop and you should use the time wisely.