文章

風波裡的時尚

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2020年12月

無論你是赴宴、運動或與朋友玩樂,每個人在出席活動時,對服裝的配搭都會有些固定的喜好。雖然古人說人靠衣裝,佛靠金裝,但時裝設計並不只局限於華麗的風格,而是和所有衣服都有密切的關係。時裝設計跟所有藝術與設計的科目一樣,有它特定的功能和目的。

根據線上劍橋字典的定義,穿著要求是指「在特定的場合或社交群體內會被接受的穿著」。我們的外表會直接影響他人對你的印象,所以除了合群的因素外,穿著得宜還有更深的意義。一般來說,要選擇合身和整潔的服裝。我們在判斷時會受到外表和儀容影響,它們可以大幅度地改變我們的看法。例如在應徵時,面試者都會穿得正式一些以示尊重。當大家去玩樂時,有些人會穿得比較浮誇一點,有些則會穿得比較隨意。

疫情對世界造成了翻天覆地的改變,令我們的社會彷彿停頓下來。現在很多人都需要留在家中工作,時裝行業也隨著我們生活的方式而改變,但同時我們的穿著會影響心態和感覺,讓你做事時更得心應手。例如穿得正式一點可以讓你增強自信和集中力,令你的思路更清晰。

因為服裝可以讓我們呈現最好的一面,即使我們長期留在家中,穿著得體依然是非常重要的。疫情總會有結束的一天,而懶惰促使我們養成壞習慣,所以我們現在也不應該放縱。服裝是文化和智慧的象徵,由我們不在乎的一剎那起,就正正代表著我們逐漸變得頹廢。我們能夠穿著得體和從眾多服裝中選擇的同時,應該感謝時裝行業為大家付出的一切。

 

世界需要時間來復甦,我們也要做好自己的本份,然後為重建社會出一分力。讓我們從新的一年起開始努力吧!

Dess to Impress

Dress to Impress

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : Dec 2020

Whether you attend a banquet, head out for an exercise or hang out with friends, you probably have certain styles of outfits that you prefer. They are all deeply connected to Fashion Design and like all Art & Design subjects, Fashion Design serves certain functions or purposes and it doesn’t have to be glamorous all the time.

According to the online Cambridge Dictionary, dress code is “an accepted way of dressing for a particular occasion or in a particular social group”. However, it is a lot more than fitting into the group. Firstly, it is evident that your appearance will directly affect others’ impression of you. In general, you can’t go wrong being neat and tidy with a good fit. We heavily rely on our vision when we make judgements, what we observe greatly influences our perceptions. For example, you would expect at a job interview, candidates would dress formally to show respect. When people go clubbing, some may go very flashy, while some would just dress casually.

As the pandemic is making massive changes to our world and putting our society on pause, the Fashion industry is adapting to our lifestyles because a lot of us are working from home now. How we dress can empower us in different ways since it affects our minds and feelings. For example, formal clothing can make you feel more confident, in control, focus better and think smarter.

Even though we are spending a lot of time at home, dressing to impress is still important to bring out the best in ourselves. The pandemic will eventually end and we should not allow ourselves to slack off now. It is easy to develop bad habits because it takes very little effort. The moment we stop dressing appropriately, we start to be decadent as clothing represents civilisation and intelligence. We should appreciate that the Fashion industry provides options to us, so we can dress to impress when we have the ability and choice to do so.

The world needs time to recover, but we need to restore ourselves first as individuals in order to restore the society. Let’s start doing so with the new year ahead!