文章

藝術投資

作者 : Ian Tsang          編輯 : Konrede Limited          日期 : 2020年3月

最近全球的經濟都呈現了衰退的跡象。有些人嘗試找新的投資渠道而藝術品為他們提供了一個選擇。事實上,投資藝術品擁有悠久的歷史。早在 1464 年,教宗庇護二世已經立下了首條有關藝術品的國際貿易法例。


蘇富比的數據顯示了藝術品的市場自上世紀 50 年代以來,一直有穩定和可觀的增長。 有趣的是,這個市場很少受到外因素的影響。例如在 2010 年左右,藝術品的投資在這段經濟低迷的時候也能獲利。根據 artprice.com 的數據,在 2018/19 這個年度亞洲現代藝術品的交易之中,香港差不多佔了總額的一半。作為金融和文化的樞紐,我們擁有獨到的優勢。香港花了不到十年的時間就成為了世上第三大的藝術交易中心。由 2013 年起舉辦的 Art Basel 也功不可沒,它將藝術的普及化作出了很大的貢獻。


你會如何去判斷一件藝術品價值?當一件物品牽涉到我們情感時,我們很難去將它定價。如果你是它的創作者,這情況將會變得更複雜。因為每個人的審美觀和品味都不盡相同,所以同一件作品對每個人來說都會有不同的價值。很多時候這些作品都是人手製作並且是獨一無二的,它們的特點和背後的概念讓作品變得更有價值。有些作品會令我們反思藝術的意義,例如杜象的《噴泉》和卡特蘭的《喜劇演員》。大眾對這兩件的作品的反應頗為極端,一部分人覺得它們很有價值,有些人就覺得它們不應該被評定為藝術品。對於經濟學家來說,分析作品也十分有挑戰性。因為創作者很少直接將作品賣給客戶,所以藝術品的交易大多都屬於二次交易。


和其他類型的資產一樣,藝術品的價值也不斷地浮動,所以投資並不能保證回報。還有藝術品並不適合用於短線投資,它也許要花數年或更長的時間才能獲利。我們應該仔細考慮當中涉及的因素,例如藝術家的身份、作品的類型和市場走勢等等。盲目地跟風是很危險的。
以上的討論都只是淺談投資藝術品時要注意的項目。當中的經濟學和如何去分析藝術品的價值都大有學問而且很有爭議性。從過去的數據和表現,我們都可以觀察到全球經濟對藝術市場的影響相對較少,所以它是值得投資的。一個人需要多年的經驗和受過相當的訓練才能準確地評估一件藝術品的價值。因為藝術是很主觀的東西,投資有潛力或新進藝術家的時候,眼光是非常重要的。如果你對相關的領域不太熟識,向專業的藝術顧問尋求意見也不失為一個好方法。

Investing In Art

Investing In Art

Article : Ian Tsang          Edited : Konrede Limited           Date : Mar 2020

The global economy is not performing well in these difficult times. Some people are trying to find other ways to invest and trading artwork is one of the options. Investing in art is nothing new. Pope Pius II introduced the first international art trade regulation back in 1464.

Sotheby’s statistics show that since the 1950s, the art market grew consistently and significantly. Interestingly, the art market is very independent. As a matter of fact, it managed to grow during the Great Recession around 2010. According to artprice.com, Hong Kong contributed nearly half of the contemporary art trading in Asia in 2018/19 and became the third largest art market in the world in less than a decade. As a financial and a cultural hub, we have unique advantages for sure. In 2013, introducing Art Basel in Hong Kong also helped significantly.

How would you value a piece of artwork? It can be hard to put a price tag on something that holds sentimental value to us, especially when you are the creator. The same piece is very likely worth differently from you to another person, because our aesthetic value or taste vary.Also, the piece is very often handcrafted and one-of-a-kind. It is the uniqueness of the idea and the creating process which make the piece valuable. There are works which challenge our perception of art, such as Fountain by Duchamp, or more recently, Comedian by Maurizio Cattelan. Some may think these pieces are valuable, others may think they should not be classified as art at all. Financially, Visual Art pieces can be challenging for economists to analyse, because it is less often that an artist sells a piece to the customer directly. The trades often take place between the consumers.

 

Like all investments, there is no guarantee on a return. Its value can rise and fall just like any type of asset. Also, it can take years to make a reasonable profit. We should consider many factors carefully as well, such as who is the artist, type of artwork, art market news and more.More importantly, it is dangerous to follow trends recklessly.

There is so much that can be discussed from finance’s and art’s point of view, because analyses can be very complicated and controversial. Looking at the statistics and past performances, it is fair to say investing in art is a good option because its market is relatively unaffected by the world’s economy. It takes years of experience and a pair of trained eyes as an investor to evaluate the value of an art piece accurately. This is very important if you want to invest in an upcoming artist who has great potentials. And as always, art is subjective. If you are not very familiar with investing artworks, it is better to seek advice from a reputable art advisor.